Ponteareas is the proud birthplace of two of La Vuelta’s greatest cyclists. The first is Delio Rodríguez, the rider who won the race in 1945 and holds the record for most partial victories with 39 stage victories to his name – an achievement that, in turn, allowed him to win the points classifications both in 1945 and 1947. The second is Álvaro Pino, who has a sports centre named after him in that locality. He obtained the final victory in La Vuelta 1986 and won 5 stages between 1981 and 1989, as well as a King of the Mountain classification.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta