Download the official app presented by ŠKODA

2023 Edition

Stage won 0
General Ranking 11
Competitors in race 6
Sporting managers : MANZONI Mario / SHEFER Alexandr

The history

The capital of Kazakhstan sponsors elite cycling projects since mid-season 2006, when they took over from Liberty Seguros before the Tour de France. Its debut in the Spanish Tour could not have been more successful, as Alexander Vinokourov took home his first and only general classification win in a three-week race. His countryman, Andrey Kashechkin, finished in third place. Later on, Alberto Contador (2008) would take the podium with his first Vuelta general classification, wearing Astana’s sky-blue jersey. The Spanish rider assured his first place with his stage wins at Angliru and Fuentes de Invierno. As a side note, his teammate Levi Leipheimer would later accompany him on the Madrid podium having obtained second place. The Italian rider Vincenzo Nibali, who is one of the few riders with overall victories at the three Grand Tours would make it back on the Vuelta podium in 2013. Fabio Aru would give Kazakhstanis their fourth most exciting Spanish Tour following the thrilling 2015 Vuelta, including the now-historic stage through the Madrid mountain passes as a race judge. In the last editions, most of the team’s joy has come through Miguel Ángel López. Between 2017 and 2019, the Colombian rider obtained two stage victories, a third place in the general classification, an award for Best Young Rider and the most aggressive prize. In 2020, Ion Izagirre added another Spanish triumph to the team’s victory tally in La Vuelta. The Basque rider won at Aramón Formigal, one of the queen stages of the 75th edition of La Vuelta. In 2022, Miguel Ángel López returned to the team following a stint in the Movistar Team and wins a stage at Tour of the Alps.

  • Final victories3
  • Stages victories20
  • Red jerseys37
  • Other races Won4

Overall victories: 3

2006: Alexandre Vinokourov.
2008: Alberto Contador.
2015: Fabio Aru.  

Stage victories: 20

2006: Alexandre Vinokourov, in Lugo, at the Alto de La Cobertoria and in Rivas-Vaciamadrid (I.T.T.); Sergio Paulinho, in the Museo de Altamira. Santillana del Mar; Andrey Kashechkin, in Sierra de and in Puerto de Navacerrada.
2008: Alberto Contador, in the Alto del Angliru and in Fuentes de Invierno. Estación de Esquí.
2012: Fredrik Kessiakoff, in Pontevedra (I.T.T.)
2013: Astana Pro Team, in San Xenxo (T.T.T.)
2014: Fabio Aru, in the Santuario de San Miguel de Aralar and in Monte Castrove. Meis.
2015: Mikel Landa, in Cortals d’Encamp.
2017: Miguel Ángel López (Observatorio de Calar Alto and Sierra Nevada); Alexey Lutsenko, (Alcossebre).
2019: Astana Pro Team (T.T.T), in Torrevieja; Jakob Fuglsang (Alto de La Cubilla).
2020: Ion Izagirre (Aramón Formigal)  

Leader jerseys: 37

2006: Alexandre Vinokourov (5 days).
2008: Levi Leipheimer (2 days) and Alberto Contador (9 days).
2013: Janez Brajkovic (1 day) and Vincenzo Nibali (13 days).
2015: Fabio Aru (7 days).  

Victories in secondary classifications: 4

2008: Alberto Contador (combined classification).
2017: Miguel Ángel López (best young rider) and Team classification.
2019: Miguel Ángel López (most aggressive rider)


8: the number of times that David de la Cruz has participated in La Vuelta, obtaining 7th place in the general classification on three occasions, the last two in consecutive editions, in 2020 and 2021.  


September 16th 2006: On the day of his 33rd birthday Alexandre Vinokourov won the I.T.T in Rivas-Vaciamadrid and sentenced his final victory in La Vuelta.  

August 13th 2008: Alberto Contador takes the red jersey in L’Angliru. He’ll keep it until the end of the race.

September 12th 2015: In the second ascent of the day to La Morcuera, Tom Dumoulin lost the leadership and the podium after a strategic attack of Fabio Aru supported by his team.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta