La Vuelta 20 won't enter France. Stage 6 to start from Biescas and finish atop Aramón Formigal

In light of the state of health emergency decreed in France and given the restrictions set by the government of the country, that also affected the planned Giro d’Italia’s passage through France, La Vuelta won’t be able to hold the summit finish of its 6thstage in the Col du Tourmalet on the 25th of October.

Given the circumstances and the regulations for outdoor events in France, and on a joint decision with the Prefects of the Pyrénées-Atlantiques and the Hautes-Pyrénées, Unipublic has decided to change the route of the 6th stage of La Vuelta 20. Unipublic thanks the French authorities for their cooperation and their efficient coordination. These acknowledgements involve, besides the Prefects mentioned above, the Province of the Hautes-Pyrénées, the Township of Barèges and the Township of Bagnères de Bigorre.

Stage 6 of La Vuelta 20 will start from Biescas, as planned - but the route from then on is completely different. It will be a 146,4-kilometre stage, with 3040 meters of vertical elevation. The peloton will face two categorised climbs, the Alto de Petralba (Cat 3) and the Alto de Cotefablo (Cat 2), before a new passage through Biescas (where there will be an Intermediate Sprint) that will lead to the final climb to the ski station of Aramón Formigal.

The climb to Aramón Formigal is one of the most iconic ascents of the Aragón Pyrenees. Its slopes are gentle, never going beyond 10% at its steepest, with an average of 4,6% on its final 14,6 kilometres. What is really demanding is the length of the effort, as climbing from Biescas means 27 kilometres of continuous ascent, without any rest. Aramón Formigal hosted one of the most remarkable cycling races of the decade: the 15th stage of La Vuelta 16. That day, Alberto Contador launched an early attack that ended up costing Chris Froome his chances of overall victory and helping Nairo Quintana’s prospects of triumphing in Madrid. Aramón Formigal has been summit finish of La Vuelta in another four occasions, with victory corresponding to José Manuel ‘Tarangu’ Fuente (1972), Agustín Tamames (1975), Pedro Torres (1977) and Warren Barguil (2013).

The organization of La Vuelta wants to thank the Government of Aragón, the Province of Huesca, the Grupo Aramón, the Comarca del Alto Gállego and the Township of Sallent de Gállego for welcoming the race, and for their flexibility and prompt reaction in this difficult context we live in.

As it is happening in every summit finish of La Vuelta 20, the access to the final climb will be forbidden for spectators. This measure is part of the wider, strict health protocol under which the race is being held this year.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta