Download the official app presented by ŠKODA

2023 Edition

Stage won 0
General Ranking 16
Competitors in race 6
Sporting managers : FERNANDEZ Jose miguel / MARTINEZ HERNANDEZ Ruben

The history

One of this edition’s two invited teams will head to Barcelona with the same objective as in previous seasons: to repeat the unforgettable triumph of Sevillian rider Antonio Piedra at Lagos de Covadonga during their debut campaign in the Spanish Tour. Although they have been close to achieving this on many occasions, their second stage victory continues to elude them. In 2019, Alex Aranburu almost achieved this in two sprint finales (Igualada and Bilbao). With the Spanish rider no longer in the team, the Navarra squad seek support in the rest of its young nucleus in order to recover their former La Vuelta glory.   In fact, Caja Rural-Seguros RGA has taken home the King of the Mountain triumph in the past two editions, with Luis León Sánchez in 2014 and a year later with Omar Fraile. Both signed contracts with WorldTour teams at the end of those seasons, thus highlighting one of the team’s main characteristics: helping to launch its best riders towards the first division worldwide, as well as renewing its training and development of young promises. Notwithstanding, its best Vuelta classification came last year with David Arroyo finishing in 12th place in 2015. Another experienced rider, Sergio Padilla, did not finish too far behind in 2017. He managed to place in the Top 15 in the general classification.

  • Final victory0
  • Stages victory1
  • Red jersey0
  • Other races Won2

Overall victories: 0 

Stage victories: 1

2012: Antonio Piedra, in Lagos de Covadonga.

Leader jerseys: 0

Victories in secondary classifications: 2

2014: Luis León Sánchez (mountain).

2015: Omar Fraile (mountain).


10: Years of the team’s consecutive participation in La Vuelta.


August 18th 2012: First participation of the team in La Vuelta.  

September 2nd 2012: Antonio Piedra wins a stage in Lagos de Covadonga and celebrates the first year of the team in a Grand Tour.  

September 13th 2015: Omar Fraile wins the polka dot jersey classification, the second one for the team after Luis León Sánchez’s victory in 2014.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta