Download the official app presented by ŠKODA

2023 Edition

Stages won 3
General Ranking 6
Competitors in race 7
Sporting managers : LODEWYCK Klaas / KEISSE Iljo

The history

Patrick Lefevère’s team has always answered the call of the Spanish race under its different names, since 2001 alongside Domo-Farm Frites. The Belgian team will take off from Burgos for the 21st edition of a race where they have already won 32 stages (20 in the past five editions). In 2017, Matteo Trentin became one of the stars of the race after winning four stage victories, showing an undeniable command of bunch sprint finales. Iron fist maintained by his compatriot Elia Viviani, with three partial triumphs in 2018. Their names appear in golden letters next to Paolo Bettini, winner of five stages between 2005 and 2008. This mastery in Grand Tour stage victories, as well as in one-day races, led them to end 2018 with a total of 73 triumphs. One of these 73 was obtained by Enric Mas in the 20th stage of La Vuelta 18, with the arrival at Coll de la Gallina, where the Spanish rider sealed the first podium for the Belgians in the Spanish Tour. Those in Patrick Lefevère’s team have known how to preserve their sign of identity, year after year. In La Vuelta 21, the Belgian team took home four stage victories - Three of them were obtained by Fabio Jakobsen, who proved that he was still one of the peloton’s best riders, even after his serious fall during the 2020 cycling season. Florian Sénéchal obtained victory in Villanueva de la Serena following his team’s magnificent launch. In 2022, Remco Evenepoel made his La Vuelta debut and obtained his first victory in a grand tour general classification, also taking home two stage victories.

  • Final victory0
  • Stages victories3
  • Red jerseys24
  • Other races Won4

Overall victories: 0  

Stage victories: 38

2001: Tomás Konecny in Murcia
2005: Paolo Bettini in Valladolid
2006: Paolo Bettini in Córdoba
2007: Paolo Bettini in Luarca
2008: Tom Boonen, in Córdoba; Paolo Bettini in Toledo and in Suances; Tom Boonen, in Zamora; Wouter Weylandt, in Valladolid
2010: Carlos Barredo in Lagos de Covadonga
2012: Dario Cataldo at the Cuitunigru
2013: Zdenek Stybar in Mairena del Aljarafe
2014: Tony Martin in Borja (I.T.T.)
2016: Gianni Meersman in Baiona and Lugo; David de la Cruz at the top of the Alto del Naranco; Gianluca Brambilla in Aramón-Formigal
2017: Matteo Trentin, in Tarragona, ElPozo Alimentación, Tomares and Madrid; Yves Lampaert, in Gruissan; Julian Alaphilippe, in Xorret de Catí
2018: Elia Viviani in Alhaurín de la Torre, Fermoselle. Bermillo de Sayago and Madrid; Enric Mas at the top of Andorra. Coll de la Gallina
2019: Fabio Jakobsen, in El Puig and Madrid; Philippe Gilbert in Bilbao and Guadalajara; Rémi Cavagna in Toledo
2021: Fabio Jakobsen, in Molina de Aragón, La Manga del Mar Menor and Santa Cruz de Bezana; Florian Sénéchal, in Villanueva de la Serena.
2022: Remco Evenepoel, in Alicante (I.T.T) and Piornal.    

Leader jersey: 24 days

2011: Sylvain Chavanel 4 days
2016: David de la Cruz, 1 day
2017: Yves Lampaert, 1 day
2022: Remco Evenepoel, 16 days.

Victories in secondary classifications: 4

2005: Rik Verbrugghe (mountain)
2018: Enric Mas (best young rider)
2020: Rémi Cavagna (most aggressive rider)
2021: Fabio Jakobsen (points)
2022: Remco Evenepoel (best young rider).


16: number of stages won by Deceuninck-Quick Step in the five last editions of La Vuelta.    


August 11th 2008: Paolo Bettini wins his 5th victory in La Vuelta, the second that same year. The Italian won at least one stage in each edition from 2005 to 2008.  

September 2nd 2014: Tony Martin wins his second I.T.T of La Vuelta in Borja, wearing the rainbow jersey as the world champion of the discipline.  

September 10th 2017: Matteo Trentin wins in Madrid, the 4th stage victory for him in La Vuelta 17.

September 15th 2018: Enric Mas finishes a spectacular La Vuelta participation at Coll de la Gallina, having won the stage and made it onto the La Vuelta podium at only 23 years of age.  

September 11st 2022: Remco Evenepoel wears La Roja as he crosses the final finish-line of La Vuelta 22, thus winning his first grand tour.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta