Download the official app presented by ŠKODA

2023 Edition

Stage won 1
General Ranking 19
Competitors in race 7
Sporting managers : GUERRICAGOITIA Gorka / FERNANDEZ Bingen

The history

Since its creation in 1997, Cofidis has only been absent from La Vuelta in 2000, making it one of the Spanish race’s regulars. The French have shown a particular preference for this race, always putting together powerful line-ups with which to fight for stage victories and good positions in the final general classification. That determination has allowed them to earn 17 partial victories, to which we would have to add the points classification and up to five King of the Mountain victories. In La Vuelta 18, the French team obtained one of its best ever participations in La Vuelta. Cofidis provided some of the big race names, such as Nacer Bouhanni (sprint victory in San Javier. Mar Menor) and Jesús Herrada (leader of the general classification for two stages). The rider from Cuenca who continues to be the last Spaniard to have worn La Roja, added another stage triumph to his tally in Ares del Maestrat during La Vuelta 19. Following its World Team debut in 2020, the team continued to experience success in 2021. Victor Lafay’s victory in Stage 8 of the Giro d’Italia was, probably, its greatest victory during the season. For his part, Guillaume Martin was confirmed as the best Grand Tour participant, having been declared among La Vuelta’s top 10, as well as among the Tour de France’s top 10. In 2023, Cofidis finally broke its 18-year streak without winning the Tour de France by obtaining stage victories through Victor Lafay and Spanish rider Ion Izagirre.

  • Final victory0
  • Stages victories17
  • Red jerseys7
  • Other races Won7

Overall victories: 0 

Stage victories: 17

1999: Frank Vandenbroucke, in Teruel and in Ávila.
2001: David Millar, in Salamanca (I.T.T.) and in Torrelavega.
2002: Guido Trentin, in Sierra Nevada.
2003: Luís Pérez Rodríguez, in Cangas de Onís and David Millar, in Córdoba.
2005: Leonardo Bertagnolli, in Córdoba.
2007: Leonardo Duque, in Puertollano.
2008: David Moncoutie, in Pla de Beret.
2009: David Moncoutie, in Sierra Nevada.
2010: David Moncoutie, in Xorret de Catí.
2011: David Moncoutie, in Estación de Mountain Manzaneda and Rein Taarame in La Farrapona. Lagos de Somiedo.
2014: Dani Navarro, in Obregón. Parque de Cabárceno.
2018: Nacer Bouhanni in San Javier. Mar Menor
2019: Jesús Herrada, in Ares del Maestrat.  

Leader jerseys: 7

2001: David Millar (3 days).
2008: Sylvain Chavanel (1 day).
2018: Jesús Herrada (2 days).
2019: Nicolas Edet (1 day).   

Victories in secondary classifications: 7

1999: Frank Vanderbroucke (points).
2008: David Moncoutie (mountain).
2009: David Moncoutie (mountain).
2010: David Moncoutie (mountain).
2011: David Moncoutie (mountain).
2013: Nicolas Edet (mountain).
2020: Guillaume Martin (mountain)


6: Cofidis victories in the King of the Mountain classification, during its 24 participations in La Vuelta.  


August 24th 1999: Frank Vanderbroucke takes his second stage win in La Vuelta 1999 in the cobblestones of Avila, leading a break with Jan Ullrich (who took the overall at the end of that edition), Jose María ‘Chava’ Jiménez, Pavel Tonkov and Leonardo Piepoli.

September 11th 2011: David Moncoutié joins the elite group of cyclists having won at least four King of the Mountain titles in La Vuelta, together with Andrés Oliva and José María ‘Chava’ Jiménez, only behind José Luis Laguía (5 times).

July 2nd 2023: In the streets of San Sebastián, Victor Lafay broke Cofidis’ 18-year streak without winning the Tour de France.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta