2022 Edition

Stage won 0
General Ranking 4
Competitors in race 6
Sporting managers : PELLIZOTTI Franco / FLORENCIO CABRE Xavier

The history

Bahrain Victorius faces its 6th season in the cycling frontline, after its debut in 2017. Much like Astana has been doing over the past decade, the team represents an oil-rich country looking for a place on the global sport scene, under the initiative of Sheikh Nasser bin Hamad Al Khalifa. The 30-year-old occasional triathlete is the son of the king of Bahrain, the president of the national Olympic Committee, the commander of the Royal Guard and, now, the owner of a cycling team backed by a consortium of Bahraini companies. If Vincenzo Nibali was the face of the team when it first started, now it is the Spanish rider Mikel Landa, as well as Jack Haig and Pello Bilbao, who leads it. The Basque rider began the season burdened by a fall during the Giro that ended his chances in the Italian tour. Following a six-year absence, the rider from Murgia may find in La Vuelta an opportunity to recover from a tough 2021. At the moment, the team’s most recent joys have come mainly from Dylan Teuns, who obtained a new stage victory in the Tour de France 2021 (after his first stage win in 2019) and wore the red jersey for one day during La Vuelta 19.

  • Final victory0
  • Stages victories2
  • Red jersey1
  • Other race Won0

Stage victories: 2

2017: Vincenzo Nibali, in Andorra La Vella.
2021: Damiano Caruso, in Alto de Velefique.

Leader jersey: 1
2019: Dylan Theuns (1 day).

Victories in secondary classifications: 1
2021: Teams classification


5: the number of times Mikel Landa has participated in La Vuelta. The last time was in 2021, when he returned to La Vuelta following a six-year absence.


March 6th 2017: Sonny Colbrelli gets the first World Tour victory for Bahrain-Merida’s team in Amilly (second stage of Paris-Nice 2017).
March 17th 2018: Vincenzo Nibali wins Milan-San Remo, the first race for the team, after a long breakaway.
3rd of October 2021: Sonny Colbrelli wins his first Paris-Roubaix in a very rainy edition, as it was held on atypical dates due to Covid-19.
19th of March 2022: Matej Mohoric obtains the second consecutive win for his team at Milan-San Remo.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta