2019 Edition

Stages won 1
Overall ranking 19
Competitors in race 5
Sporting managers : GARATE Juan manuel / VANMARCKE Ken http://www.efprocycling.com


Team EF Education First is another team that has grown from the lower echelons of the professional peloton until its acceptance into the select World Tour club a few short years later. Diversity being one of its core values, it has become known for having heterogeneous line-ups, made up of riders of all different nationalities. With this formula, the riders from Boulder (Colorado) debuted in the 2009 Vuelta, reaping exceptional results in the race. Tyler Farrar, Ryder Hesjedal and David Millar tripled the winnings of the then Garmin-Slipstream. Farrar himself would win two further sprints in the following edition and the Irish rider Daniel Martin (2011) and the Canadian Ryder Hesjedal (2014) added victories to the tally in the following editions. In 2017, young rider Davide Villella obtained a victory for the American team in La Vuelta by winning the King of the Mountain jersey, which he held onto from stage 3 onwards. A success they confirmed in the last edition of the Spanish Tour with two very different stage victories: the first, by Simon Clarke, in a sprint escape at Roquetas de Mar, and the second, by Michael Woods, building up his legs in the very tough ramps of the Balcón de Bizkaia.

  • Final victory0
  • Stages victories9
  • Red jersey0
  • Other race Won1

Overall victories: 0  


Stage victories: 9

2009: Tyler Farrar, in Caravaca de la Cruz, Ryder Hesjedal, at the Alto de Velefique, David Millar, in Toledo (I.T.T.).

2010: Tyler Farrar, in Lorca and in Madrid.

2011: Daniel Martin, in Sierra de Béjar. La Covatilla.

2014: Ryder Hesjedal, at the top of La Camperona. Valle de Sabero.

2018: Simon Clarke (Roquetas de Mar); Michael Woods (Balcón de Bizkaia).


Leader jersey: 0


Victories in secondary classifications: 1

2017: Davide Villella (polka dot jersey). 


3: Out of the US team’s nine stage victories, three of them were at unprecedented La Vuelta high-altitude finales



September 19th, 2010: In the final stage in Madrid, the American sprinter Tyler Farrar gets his 3rd stage victory in La Vuelta, the second that same year.

September 6th, 2014: Almost 5 years after winning his first stage in La Vuelta at the Alto de Velefique, Ryder Hesjedal wins again in the uphill finish of La Camperona.

September 12th, 2018: Michael Woods wins at the top of Balcón de Bizkaia following an exciting climb up the tough Mount Oiz, encouraged by the Basque fans.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta