2022 Edition

Stage won 0
General Ranking 15
Competitors in race 8
Sporting managers : AZANZA SOTO Jorge / EZKURDIA SALAZAR Jesus maria

The history

It seems odd to speak of Euskaltel-Euskadi as a team that is making its debut in La Vuelta. The Basques rose from the ashes through the Fundación Euskadi, led by the rider from Álava Mikel Landa. Little by little, with effort and hard work, the team has made it into the UCI ProTeam category and was invited to participate in La Vuelta 21, the first Grand Tour they participated in since their creation in 2018. Although the majority of the team members are Basque, Euskaltel-Euskadi also has some impressive riders from outside the Basque Country, namely Juanjo Lobato and Luis Ángel Maté. Only one team member knows what it is like to win a stage of the Spanish tour: Mikel Iturria. The rider from Urnieta will seek to repeat his triumph from 2019 in Urdax-Dantxarinea and recapture that Basque cycling glory that is part of Spanish cycling history and should never have abandoned the international peloton. During the orange team’s return to La Vuelta, it fulfilled its attacking role and was rewarded for it with the Most Combative Rider award going to Joan Bou for Stage 6.

  • Final victory0
  • Stages victory0
  • Red jersey0
  • Other race Won0

Overall victories: 0

Stage victories: 0

Leader jersey: 0

Victories in secondary classifications: 0


8: The years that passed between the old Euskaltel-Euskadi’s participation in La Vuelta until their return as a new team in 2021. Team members have included Samuel Sánchez, Igor Antón, Mikel Landa, the Izagirre brothers, Mikel Nieve and Pello Bilbao, among others.


January 15th, 2018: Almost five years after the disappearance of the Euskaltel-Euskadi team, the Basque ‘orange tide’ returns to the international peloton with the creation of a professional team by the Fundación Euskadi

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta