Download the official app presented by ŠKODA

2023 Edition

Stage won 1
General Ranking 20
Competitors in race 5
Sporting managers : PIVA Valerio / VANSPEYBROUCK Pieter

The history

Following its incorporation into the WorldTour peloton in 2021, Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériauxx was one of the teams to make its debut in La Vuelta 21.The Belgian team joined the professional peloton in 2009 under the name of Willems Verandas. Since then, it has maintained a strong team for the central-European country, accompanying riders from other nationalities in the fight to obtain partial victories and overall triumphs in one-week races.   Sponsored by the Intermarché supermarkets in 2021, the team still preserves its sponsorship from Wanty that has accompanied it throughout the majority of its successes. Its main ones were the earned by Enrico Gasparotto in the Amstel Gold Race 2016 and, more recently, Taco van der Hoorn in the Giro d’Italia 2021. The current Belgian team line-up features two riders who have previously obtained partial victories in La Vuelta: Estonian rider Rein Taaramäe (2011) and Dutch rider Danny van Poppel (2015).   More recently, the young Eritrean Biniam Girmay experienced a spectacular triumph at the Gent-Wevelgem 2022. In 2021, the team won a stage in the Giro d’Italia with Taco van der Hoorn, and a stage in La Vuelta, with Rein Taaramäe. Norwegian Odd Christian Eiking wore the red jersey for seven stages during La Vuelta 21 after winning it at Rincón de la Victoria. In 2022, Louis Meintes emerged victorious at the tough ramps of Les Praeres, obtaining a stage victory for the team.  

  • Final victory0
  • Stages victories2
  • Red jerseys7
  • Other race Won0

Overall victories: 0 

Stage victories: 2  

2021: Rein Taaramae (Picón Blanco).

2022: Louis Meintjes (Les Praeres).  

Leader jerseys: 7

Victories in secondary classifications: 0


3: The participations of Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériau in Grand Tours prior to 2021. Just this season, it has doubled that number, by participating in the Giro, the Tour and La Vuelta.  


April 17th 2016: The already-retired Enrico Gasparotto wins his second Amstel Gold Race, the team’s first and the most prestigious victory for the Belgian team to date.

May 10th 2021: In a very emotive stage, Dutch rider, Taco van der Hoorn, who almost did not make it into the team this season, manages to escape and obtains a solitary victory during the third stage of the Giro d’Italia.

August 24th 2021: Following his successful infiltration into the day’s escape, Odd Christian Eiking managed to wear the red leader’s jersey, defending it tooth and nail, for seven days. Eventually, he lost it to Roglic, who went on to win the race.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta