Download the official app presented by ŠKODA

2023 Edition

Stage won 0
General Ranking 9
Competitors in race 8
Sporting managers : POPOVYCH Yaroslav / BAFFI Adriano

The history

This will be the 12nd Vuelta for a team that has evolved from the original Leopard-Trek of 2011 to the current Lidl-Trek. Along the way, was the fusion with RadioShack and the emergence of the US bicycle company as their main sponsor - a journey full of continuous changes that have seen them achieve significant victories in this competition. One that stands out above the rest is Chris Horner’s incredible 2013 Vuelta, who won the general classification of a three-week race shortly before his 42nd birthday. The extroverted RadioShack-Leopard rider won over the Spanish fans with his amusing answers in Spanish at the end of every day of racing during that edition. His victories in Lobeira and Hazallanas and another by Fabian Cancellara made the team’s loot that much sweeter that year. The team has a total of 11 La Vuelta stage victories under its belt, among them the one obtained by Alberto Contador at l’Angliru in 2017. The Spanish rider culminated his successful career by climbing the unforgiving Asturian peak all alone. A partial triumph that the US team was unable to repeat in the three last editions of La Vuelta, despite the notable efforts made by Bauke Mollema. The Dutch rider, one of the peloton’s most entertaining riders, won the favour of the public, becoming the race’s Most Aggessive Rider of La Vuelta 18. In 2021, Kenny Elissonde managed to wear the red jersey for one stage. In 2022, Mad Pedersen obtained three stage victories as well as the race’s green jersey.

  • Final victory1
  • Stages victories14
  • Red jerseys8
  • Other races Won2

Overall victories: 1

2013: Chris Horner  

Stage victories: 14

2011: Leopard Trek, in Benidorm (T.T.T.); Daniele Bennati, in Vitoria.
2012: Daniele Bennati, in Valladolid.
2013: Chris Horner, at the Mirador de Lobeira. Villagarcía de Arousa and in Güejar Sierra; Fabian Cancellara, in Tarazona (I.T.T.).
2015: Jasper Stuyven, in Murcia; Danny Van Poppel, in Lleida; Frank Schleck, in Ermita de Alba. Quirós.
2017: Alberto Contador in l’Angliru.
2022: Mads Pedersen, in Montilla, Tomares and Talavera de la Reina.  

Leader jersey: 8 days

2011: Jakob Fuglsang (1 day); Daniele Bennati (1 day).
2013: Chris Horner, 5 days.
2021: Kenny Elissonde, 1 day.    

Victories in secondary classifications: 2

2013: Chris Horner (combined classification and most aggressive rider).
2018: Bauke Mollema (most aggressive rider)


41: the age of Chris Horner when he won the overall classification of La Vuelta 2013


September 6th, 2011: Daniele Bennati wins in Vitoria its 5th stage of La Vuelta, with 3 different teams.

September 15th, 2013: Chris Horner becomes the oldest winner of La Vuelta with 41 years.

September 9th, 2017: Alberto Contador culminates his successful career with an historical stage win at the top of the Angliru.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta