2018 Edition

Stages won 1
Overall ranking 18
Competitors in race 8
Sporting managers : AERTS Mario / WAUTERS Marc


The World Tour peloton’s longest standing sponsor faces a new edition of the Vuelta, the 16th in its trajectory. The Belgian team debuted in this race in 1998 under the name Lotto-Mobistar, repeating again in 1999 and returning continuously every year since 2005. However, the story of this group goes as far back as 1985, the year in which the first Lotto took its very first steps with its current manager, Marc Sergeant, as a member of that squad. 


Despite having the best experts in their ranks throughout the years, the team’s first Vuelta victory did not arrive until 2008, when a promising Greg Van Avermaet overtook Davide Rebellin and Juan Antonio Flecha in Sabiñánigo. If up until 2016 the Belgian Group had obtained four stage victories in the Spanish Tour, in the last edition Lotto Soudal became one of the driving forces of the peloton, doubling that number of partial victories. Tomasz Marczynkski, in Sagunt and Antequera; Sander Armée, in Santo Toribio de Liébana; and Thomas de Gendt, in Gijón; four new victories to add to their record in La Vuelta for Sergeant’s team.

  • Final victory 0
  • Stages victories 8
  • Red jerseys 8
  • Other race Won 1

Overall victories :


Stage victories : 8

2008: Greg Van Avermaet in Sabiñánigo

2010 Philippe Gilbert in Málaga and in Toledo.

2014: Adam Hansen in Cangas do Morrazo.

2017: Tomasz Marczynski, in Sagunt and Antequera.

2017: Sander Armée, in Santo Toribio de Liébana.

2017: Thomas de Gendt, in Gijón.


Leader jersey : 8

1999: Jacky Durand, 2 days.

2009: Cadel Evans, 1 day.

2010: Philippe Gilbert, 5 days.


Victories in secondary classifications : 1

2008: Greg Van Avermaet (Green jersey).


: stage victories of the Belgian team in La Vuelta 17, doubling its record up until now in the race.



August 8th, 2008 : A group of 12 riders fight for the victory in the bunch sprint in Sabiñánigo, where Greg Van Avermaet takes the lead of the points classification.

August 12th, 2014 : Adam Hansen jumps of the peloton to launch an attack with 4.5 to go and gets the stage victory. 

August 31st, 2017 : Tomasz Marczynski joins Philippe Gilbert as the only two riders of the team with two stage victories on a same edition of La Vuelta (Gilbert 2015, Marczynski 2017). 

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta

By browsing this site, you accept the use of Cookies in order to offer to you an advertising tailored to your interests, and to perform traffic statistics.

To find out more