2020 Edition

Stages won 0
General Ranking 5
Competitors in race 8
Sporting managers : DEAN Julian / WILSON Matthew


Australia has become a reference in elite cycling, partly due to the evolution of Mitchelton-Scott, a team that competes in the maximum international category since its first season on the road in 2012. During its eight Vuelta participations, the Australian team has rarely left the Spanish territory empty-handed, accumulating 12 triumphs with seven different riders so far.
The Aussie to kick off the victory tally for the oceanic team was Simon Clarke who, after winning at Valdezcaray, continued fighting until the very last moment in the 2012 Vuelta, where he took home the King of the Mountain jersey. A very promising Michael Matthews would win two stages in the Spanish Tour at Lagos de Sanabria and Arcos de la Frontera, while Caleb Ewan and Esteban Chaves, this one twofold, would complete a dreamy first week for the Australians in 2015. The Colombian rider would then go on to finish 5th in the general classification, after becoming one of the great revelations of the race, wearing the red leader jersey for six days. A status that Chaves consolidated in 2016 reaching the 3rd step of the final podium in Madrid. A great overall result that the team completed with four stage victories: Jens Keukeleire in Bilbao, Magnus Cort Nielsen in Gandía and Madrid; and Simon Yates in Luintra/Ribeira Sacra. It was precisely the oldest of the Yates twins who became one of the greatest names in cycling in 2018. The British rider was leader of the Giro d’Italia for 13 days, before Chris Froome snatched the maglia rosa from him in Finestre. Yates recovered with a maturity beyond his 26 years, obtaining the first Mitchelton-Scott Grand Tour in La Vuelta, leading from La Covatilla and defending La Roja for 11 stages, with incredible performances at Les Praeres. Nava and Andorra. Naturlandia.

  • Final victory1
  • Stages victories12
  • Red jerseys20
  • Other race Won1

Overall victories: 1

  • 2018: Simon Yates  

Stage victories: 12

  • 2012: Simon Clarke in the Estación de Valdezcaray
  • 2013: Michael Matthews in Lago de Sanabria and in Madrid.   
  • 2014: Michael Matthews in Arcos de la Frontera.
  • 2015: Esteban Chaves in Caminito del Rey and Sierra de Cazorla; Caleb Ewan in Alcalá de Guadaira.
  • 2016: Simon Yates in Luintra. Ribeira Sacra; Jens Keukeleire in Bilbao; Magnus Cort Nielsen in Gandía and Madrid.
  • 2018: Simon Yates in Les Praeres. Nava.  

Leader jersey: 20 days

  • 2014: Michael Matthews 3 days.
  • 2015: Esteban Chaves, 6 days.
  • 2018: Simon Yates, 11 days.  

Victories in secondary classifications: 1

  • 2012: Simon Clarke (mountain)  

24: Up until May 2018, Simon Yates had never been the leader in the general classification of a Grand Tour. Since then, the Bristish rider has been leader of the Giro and La Vuelta for a total of 24 days.


August 21st, 2012: Simon Clarke wins on top of Valdezcaray and gives the first stage win to Orica-GreenEdge in their first year as a World Tour team.

August 25th, 2014: Michael Matthews wears the red jersey, five years after Cadel Evans and nine years after Bradley McGee (first Australian).

September 16th, 2018: Simon Yates becomes the first rider in the Oceanic team to win La Vuelta.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta