2018 Edition

Stages won 4
Overall ranking 17
Competitors in race 7
Sporting managers : VAN SLYCKE Rik / VAN BONDT Geert


Patrick Lefevère’s team has always answered the call of the Spanish race under its different names, since 2003 alongside Quick Step-Davitamon. The Belgian team will take off from Málaga for the 16th edition of a race where they have already won 22 stages (10 in the past two years). In 2017, Matteo Trentin became one of the stars of the race after winning four stage victories, showing an undeniable command of sprint finishes. His name is now linked with Paolo Bettini, one of the main figures of the Vuelta from 2005 to 2008. The one area where the team has not been so lucky is in the general classification: only three Spanish riders have made it among the top ten positions: Juanmi Mercado (9th in 2005), Carlos Barredo (10th in 2007) and David de la Cruz (7th in 2016). In 2018, the Belgian team has already won several stages in the Giro and the Tour as well as one day races such as the Tour de Flanders, the Flèche Wallonne and Liège-Bastogne-Liège. 

  • Final victory 0
  • Stages victories 22
  • Red jerseys 6
  • Other race Won 1

Overall victories : 0


Stage victories : 22

2001: Tomás Konecny in Murcia.

2005: Paolo Bettini in Valladolid.

2006: Paolo Bettini in Córdoba.

2007: Paolo Bettini in Luarca.

2008: Tom Boonen, in Córdoba.

2008: Paolo Bettini in Toledo y en Suances.

2008: Tom Boonen, in Zamora.

2008: Wouter Weylandt, in Valladolid.

2010: Carlos Barredo in Lagos de Covadonga.

2012: Dario Cataldo at the Cuitunigru.

2013: Zdenek Stybar in Mairena del Aljarafe.

2014: Tony Martin in Borja (I.T.T.)

2016: Gianni Meersman in Baiona and Lugo.

2016: David de la Cruz at the top of the Alto del Naranco.

2016: Gianluca Brambilla in Aramón-Formigal.

2017: Matteo Trentin, en Tarragona, ElPozo Alimentación, Tomares y Madrid.

2017: Yves Lampaert, en Gruissan.

2017: Julian Alaphilippe, en Xorret de Catí.


Leader jersey: 6

2011: Sylvain Chavanel 4 days. 

2016: David de la Cruz, 1 day.

2017: Yves Lampaert, 1 day.


Victories in secondary classifications : 1

2005: Rik Verbrugghe (mountain).


6: number of stages won by Patrick Lefevere’s riders in La Vuelta 17.



August 11th, 2008 : Paolo Bettini wins his 5th victory in La Vuelta, the second that same year. The Italian won at least one stage in each edition from 2005 to 2008.

September 2nd, 2014 : Tony Martin wins his second I.T.T of La Vuelta in Borja, wearing the rainbow jersey as the world champion of the discipline.

September 10th, 2017 : Matteo Trentin wins in Madrid, the 4th stage victory for him in La Vuelta 17.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta

By browsing this site, you accept the use of Cookies in order to offer to you an advertising tailored to your interests, and to perform traffic statistics.

To find out more