2018 Edition

Stages won 0
Overall ranking 9
Competitors in race 8
Sporting managers : RASCH Ole Gabriel / ZANDIO ECHAIDE Xabier


Team Sky’s history is intricately woven with that of the Vuelta, a race where it has always had great line-ups, and has fought several seasons for a triumph in the general classification. Following its debut in 2010, the British riders took their place among the protagonists in the Grand Tours with a previously unknown Chris Froome and his teammate, the Olympic and Track Cycling gold medallist, Bradley Wiggins. Both made it onto the final podium in that edition, just behind the Spanish rider, Juanjo Cobo.

At that moment, a special relationship began between the Vuelta and Froome, a rider that has confessed on several occasions to having a particular preference for this race. The winner of the 2013, 2015, 2016 and 2017 Tour de France was once again on the podium of the Spanish Tour in 2014 and 2016. In 2015, however, he was forced to abandon the race following a serious ankle injury. In 2017, the British rider was finally able to wear La Roja, maintaining the lead from the 3rd stage right until the final stage. Froome thus obtained a historic double win, winning both the Tour and La Vuelta for the first time since the latter went on to be held after the Grande Boucle. In 2018, Team Sky has confirmed its domination in three-week races with Chris Froome in the Giro d’Italia and Geraint Thomas in the Tour de France. 

  • Final victory 1
  • Stages victories 9
  • Red jerseys 26
  • Other race Won 1

Overall victories: 1

2017 : Chris Froome


Stage victories: 9

2011: Chris Sutton, in Playas Orihuela.

2011: Chris Froome, in Peña Cabarga 

2013: Vasil Kiryienka, in Peña Cabarga.

2015: Nicholas Roche, in Riaza.

2016: Team Sky (T.T.T.).

2016: Chris Froome, in Peña Cabarga.

2016: Chris Froome, in Calp.

2017: Chris Froome, en Cumbre del Sol y Logroño.


Leader jersey: 26

2011: Chris Froome, 1 day.

2011: Wiggins Bradley, 4 days.

2016: Peter Kennaugh, 1 day.

2016: Michal Kwiatkowski, 1 day.

2017: Chris Froome, 19 days.


Victories in secondary classifications: 1

2014: Chris Froome (most aggressive rider).

2017: Chris Froome (White and Green jersey)


3: Times the team had to miss the overall victory with Chris Froome (2011, 2014 and 2016) before finally winning the red jersey in La Vuelta 17.



August 28th, 2010: First participation of Team Sky in La Vuelta.  

September 11th, 2011: Chris Froome and Bradley Wiggins get a brilliant result for Team Sky finishing 2nd and 3rd on the overall classification.

September 9th, 2017: Froome wins La Vuelta after climbing the Angliru, flanked by Wout Poels and crossing the finish line just after Alberto Contador.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta

By browsing this site, you accept the use of Cookies in order to offer to you an advertising tailored to your interests, and to perform traffic statistics.

To find out more