2019 Edition

Stages won 0
Overall ranking 9
Competitors in race 7
Sporting managers : SANS VEGA Alex / FERNANDEZ Bingen http://www.africasteam.com


The South African team prepares for its 6th consecutive participation in the Vuelta, following its 2014 debut, when it was still a Professional-Continental team. Three years ago, Dimension Data took over from MTN-Qhubeka as the main name for the project created back in 2007 by ex-professional cyclist Doug Ryder.

The 2015 Vuelta would bring out the qualities of several riders from a team created to promote the values of the African continent among young people. One of these riders, a young South-African of only 23 years of age, Louis Meintjes, obtained a very valuable 10th place in the race’s final general classification. However, the great success for the then MTN-Qhubeka would come at the hands of transalpine Kristian Sbaragli, sprint winner of the stage that ended at Castellón de la Plana; the second in a Grand Tour for the project after the one obtained by Stephen Cummings in the 2015 Tour de France. However, the leap for the African team occurred at the hands of Ben King, who won at two of the toughest peaks in La Vuelta 18 (Alfacar. La Alfaguara Mountain Range and La Covatilla), beating such elite cyclists as Pierre Rolland and Bauke Mollema.

  • Final victory0
  • Stages victories3
  • Red jersey0
  • Other race Won1

Overall victories: 0


Stage victories : 3

2015: Kristian Sbaragli, in Castellón de la Plana.

2018: Ben King (Alfacar. Sierra de la Alfaguara and La Covatilla).


Leader jersey : 0


Victories in secondary classifications: 1

2016: Omar Fraile (polka dot jersey).


22: The total combined uphill kilometres of Alfacar and La Covatilla, the two finales won by Ben King in La Vuelta 18.



August 23rd, 2014: First African team to participate in La Vuelta under MTN-Qhubeka sponsoring.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta