Download the official app presented by ŠKODA

2023 Edition

Stages won 5
General Ranking 1
Competitors in race 8
Sporting managers : ENGELS Addy / REEF Marc

The history

This cycling team is a reference in the Netherlands since the mid-90’s, and is now preparing itself for its 25th participation in La Vuelta. In fact, since the creation of Rabobank in 1996, the team has only been absent in its debut year and in 2002. Denis Menchov obtained the team’s final triumph in the 2007 edition. However, the greatest number of victories obtained corresponds to the triple World Champion, Óscar Freire. The Spanish rider was especially inspired in that same 2007 edition, winning three stages. The team’s long list of winners also includes riders such as Leon Van Bon, Max Van Heeswijk, Lars Boom, Bauke Mollema, Bert Jan Lindeman and Robert Gesink, winner at the col d’Aubisque in 2016. The Dutch riders were able to recover in La Vuelta 20 from the bitter taste left in their mouths during the Tour de France, where Primož Roglič lost the yellow jersey in the second-last stage to his fellow countryman Tadej Pogačar. Roglič obtained a historic double victory, winning La Vuelta for the second consecutive year, something no one had been able to achieve since Roberto Heras did so back in 2005. The rider from Trbovlje did not leave anything to chance and took La Roja with authority and four stage triumphs, confirming his status as one of the greatest La Vuelta competitors in the current peloton. In 2021, after having to abandon the Tour de France due to a fall, Primož Roglič became the third cyclist in history to obtain three consecutive victories in the general classification of La Vuelta, after Tony Rominger and Roberto Heras. Following Roglič withdrawal from La Vuelta 22, the Slovenian rider went on to win the Giro d’Italia in 2023, while his teammate Vingegaard did the same in the French tour. Will they achieve a triple victory with La Vuelta 23

  • Final victories4
  • Stages victories25
  • Red jerseys65
  • Other races Won5

Overall victories: 4

2007: Denis Menchov.
2019: Primož Roglič
2020: Primož Roglič
2021: Primož Roglič    

Stage victories: 25

1997: León Van Bon, in Valladolid; Max Van Heeswijk, in Madrid.
2001: Beat Zberg, in Salou.
2003: Michael Rasmussen, in Cauterets, France.
2004: Oscar Freire, in Castellón de la Plana.
2005: Denis Menchov, in Granada and Lloret de Mar.
2007: Oscar Freire, in Santiago de Compostela, Reinosa and Logroño.
2008: Oscar Freire, in Burgos.
2009: Lars Boom, in Córdoba.
2013: Bauke Mollema, in Burgos.
2015: Bert Jan Linderman, in La Alpujarra.
2016: Robert Gesink, at the top of the Col d'Aubisque.
2019: Primož Roglič, in Pau (ITT); Sepp Kuss, in Santuario del Acebo.
2020: Primož Roglič, in Arrate, Alto de Moncalvillo, Suances and the Mirador de Ézaro.
2021: Primož Roglič, in Burgos (ITT), Valdepeñas de Jaén, Lagos de Covadonga and Santiago de Compostela (ITT).  

Leader jersey: 65 days

2005: Denís Menchov (9 days).
2007: Oscar Freire (2 days); Denís Menchov (14 days).
2019: Primož Roglič, (12 days).
2020: Primož Roglič, (13 days).
2021: Primož Roglič, (11 days).
2022: Robert Gesink (1 day), Mike Teunissen (1 day), Edoardo Affini (1 day) y Primož Roglič (1 day)  

Victories in secondary classifications: 5

2007: Denis Menchov (mountain and combined classification).
2011: Bauke Mollema (points).
2019: Primož Roglič (points).
2020: Primož Roglič (points).


37: Days that Primož Roglič wore La Roja between 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022.  


September 23rd 1997: Leon Van Bon gets the first victory for the team.

September 23rd 2007: 10 years after the team's debut in La Vuelta Denis Menchov wins the overall classification.

September 14th 2019: Primož Roglič earns the Dutch team’s second general classification victory during his debut.

September 5th 2021: Primož Roglič won his third La Vuelta’s general classification.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta