2020 Edition

Stages won 1
General Ranking 14
Competitors in race 7
Sporting managers : SCHEIDECKER Ricardo / VAN SLYCKE Rik


Patrick Lefevère’s team has always answered the call of the Spanish race under its different names, since 2003 alongside Quick Step-Davitamon. The Belgian team will take off from Irun for the 20th edition of a race where they have already won 31 stages (19 in the past four editions). In 2017, Matteo Trentin became one of the stars of the race after winning four stage victories, showing an undeniable command of sprint finishes. Iron fist maintained by his compatriot Elia Viviani, with three partial triumphs in 2018, all of them a sprint to the finish-line. Their names appear in golden letters next to Paolo Bettini, winner of five stages between 2005 and 2008.
This mastery in Grand Tour stage victories, as well as in one-day races, led them to end 2018 with a total of 73 triumphs. One of these 73 was obtained by Enric Mas in the 20th stage of La Vuelta 18, with the arrival at Coll de la Gallina, where the Spanish rider sealed the first podium for the Belgians in the Spanish Tour.
Patrick Lefevère’s team continues to be very popular in 2019. They are almost unbeatable in one-day races, with victories in Strade Bianche, Milan-Sanremo, Paris-Roubaix and Flèche Wallonne. Meanwhile, in three-week races, they became one of the biggest entertainers with Julian Alaphilippe who was recently crowned 2020 World Champion in Imola. In La Vuelta, with a team that, on paper, seemed more modest that in the Tour, they obtained five new stage victories, proving that they are unrivalled when it comes to team strategy and mass arrivals. Fabio Jakobsen, Philippe Gilbert, both with a double victory; and Rémi Cavagna were the ones to increase the Belgian team’s victory tally with triumphs of all types: escapes, sprints, bordures…

  • Final victory0
  • Stages victories31
  • Red jerseys6
  • Other races Won2

Overall victories: 0  

Stage victories: 31

  • 2001: Tomás Konecny in Murcia.
  • 2005: Paolo Bettini in Valladolid.
  • 2006: Paolo Bettini in Córdoba.
  • 2007: Paolo Bettini in Luarca.
  • 2008: Tom Boonen, in Córdoba; Paolo Bettini in Toledo and in Suances; Tom Boonen, in Zamora; Wouter Weylandt, in Valladolid.
  • 2010: Carlos Barredo in Lagos de Covadonga.
  • 2012: Dario Cataldo at the Cuitunigru.
  • 2013: Zdenek Stybar in Mairena del Aljarafe.
  • 2014: Tony Martin in Borja (I.T.T.)
  • 2016: Gianni Meersman in Baiona and Lugo; David de la Cruz at the top of the Alto del Naranco; Gianluca Brambilla in Aramón-Formigal.
  • 2017: Matteo Trentin, in Tarragona, ElPozo Alimentación, Tomares and Madrid; Yves Lampaert, in Gruissan; Julian Alaphilippe, in Xorret de Catí.
  • 2018: Elia Viviani in Alhaurín de la Torre, Fermoselle. Bermillo de Sayago and Madrid; Enric Mas at the top of Andorra. Coll de la Gallina.
  • 2019: Fabio Jakobsen, in El Puig and Madrid; Philippe Gilbert in Bilbao and Guadalajara; Rémi Cavagna in Toledo.  

Leader jersey: 6 days.

  • 2011: Sylvain Chavanel 4 days.
  • 2016: David de la Cruz, 1 day.
  • 2017: Yves Lampaert, 1 day.

Victories in secondary classifications: 2

  • 2005: Rik Verbrugghe (mountain).
  • 2018: Enric Mas (best young rider)

19: number of stages won by Deceuninck-Quick Step in the four last editions of La Vuelta. The Belgian riders have won one out of every four linear stages in the Spanish Tour in the past four years.


August 11th, 2008: Paolo Bettini wins his 5th victory in La Vuelta, the second that same year. The Italian won at least one stage in each edition from 2005 to 2008.  

September 2nd, 2014: Tony Martin wins his second I.T.T of La Vuelta in Borja, wearing the rainbow jersey as the world champion of the discipline.  

September 10th, 2017: Matteo Trentin wins in Madrid, the 4th stage victory for him in La Vuelta 17.

September 15th, 2018: Enric Mas finishes a spectacular La Vuelta participation at Coll de la Gallina, having won the stage and made it onto the La Vuelta podium at only 23 years of age.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta