2018 Edition

Stages won 2
Overall ranking 5
Competitors in race 8
Sporting managers : GARATE Juan Manuel / GUIDI Fabrizio


Team EF Education First-Drapac P/B Cannondale is another team that has grown from the lower echelons of the professional peloton until its acceptance into the select World Tour club a few short years later. The team now competes under the initials of the education giant, EF Education First, though without losing its reference to the American Cannondale.

Diversity being one of its core values, Cannondale has become known for having heterogeneous line-ups, made up of riders of all different nationalities. With this formula, the riders from Boulder (Colorado) debuted in the 2009 Vuelta, reaping exceptional results in the race. Tyler Farrar, Ryder Hesjedal and David Millar tripled the winnings of the then Garmin-Slipstream. Farrar himself would win two further sprints in the following edition and the Irish rider Daniel Martin (2011) and the Canadian rider Ryder Hesjedal (2014) added victories to the tally in the following editions. In 2017, young rider Davide Villella obtained a victory for the American team in La Vuelta by winning the King of the Mountain jersey, which he held onto from stage 3 onwards.

  • Final victory 0
  • Stages victories 7
  • Red jersey 0
  • Other race Won 1

Overall victories: 0  


Stage victories: 7

2009: Tyler Farrar, in Caravaca de la Cruz.

2009: Ryder Hesjedal, at the Alto de Velefique.

2009: David Millar, in Toledo (I.T.T.).

2010: Tyler Farrar, in Lorca and in Madrid.

2011: Daniel Martin, in Sierra de Béjar. La Covatilla.

2014: Ryder Hesjedal, at the top of La Camperona. Valle de Sabero.


Leader jersey: 0


Victories in secondary classifications: 1

2017: Davide Villella (polka dot jersey). 


19: Davide Villella retained the polka dot jersey for 19 stages during La Vuelta 17



September 19th, 2010: In the final stage in Madrid, the American sprinter Tyler Farrar gets his 3rd stage victory in La Vuelta, the second that same year.

September 6th, 2014: Almost 5 years after winning his first stage in La Vuelta at the Alto de Velefique, Ryder Hesjedal wins again in the uphill finish of La Camperona.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta

By browsing this site, you accept the use of Cookies in order to offer to you an advertising tailored to your interests, and to perform traffic statistics.

To find out more