Download the official app presented by ŠKODA

2023 Edition

Stage won 1
General Ranking 17
Competitors in race 6
Sporting managers : CUMMINGS Steve / KNEES Christian

The history

Team Ineos Grenadiers history is intricately woven with that of La Vuelta, a race where it has always had great line-ups, and has fought several seasons for a triumph in the general classification. Following its debut in 2010, as Team Sky, the British riders took their place among the protagonists in the Grand Tours with a previously unknown Chris Froome and his teammate, the Olympic and Track Cycling gold medallist, Bradley Wiggins. Both made it 1 and 2 on the final podium of that edition. In fact, La Vuelta 11 is the first Grand Tour that adorns the tally of the Kenyan-born British rider. At that moment, a special relationship began between La Vuelta and Froome, a rider that has confessed on several occasions to having a particular preference for this race. The winner of the 2013, 2015, 2016 and 2017 Tour de France was once again on the podium of the Spanish Tour in 2014 and 2016. In 2017, he won La Roja again maintaining the lead from the 3rd stage right until the final stage. Froome thus obtained a historic double win, winning both the Tour and La Vuelta for the first time since the latter went on to be held after the Grande Boucle. Richard Carapaz was the one in charge of taking over the team’s leadership in 2020. The Ecuadorian rider, gold medal in the men's road race at the Tokyo Olympics, fought until the very last stage in order to win La Vuelta 20 and managed to obtain a very commendable second place, just behind the unwavering Roglič. In 2021, with both a Tour and a Giro victory already under his belt, Colombian rider Egan Bernal is expected to seek to add his name to cycling history in gold letters by winning the general classification of the three grand tours at just 24 years of age. In 2021, a combative Egan Bernal was one of the race’s hardest-working riders and, despite not feeling 100%, managed to obtain a good placement among the top 10. In 2022, Richard Carapaz won three stages and the king of the mountain jersey.

  • Final victories2
  • Stages victories12
  • Red jerseys34
  • Other races Won4

Overall victories: 2

2011: Chris Froome
2017: Chris Froome  

Stage victories: 12

2011: Chris Sutton, in Playas Orihuela and Peña Cabarga 
2013: Vasil Kiryienka, in Peña Cabarga.
2015: Nicholas Roche, in Riaza.
2016: Team Sky (T.T.T.); Chris Froome, in Peña Cabarga and in Calp.
2017: Chris Froome, en Cumbre del Sol y Logroño.
2022: Richard Carapaz (Peñas Blancas, Sierra de la Pandera and Puerto de Navacerrada).  

Leader jersey: 34 days

2011: Chris Froome (1 day); Wiggins Bradley (4 days).
2016: Peter Kennaugh (1 day); Michal Kwiatkowski (1 day).
2017: Chris Froome (19 days).
2018: Michal Kwiatkowski (3 days).
2020: Richard Carapaz (5 days).  

Victories in secondary classifications: 4

2014: Chris Froome (most aggressive rider).
2017: Chris Froome (White and Green jersey)
2022: Richard Carapaz (mountain)


4: Chris Froome’s La Vuelta podiums, with two victories in the general classification (2011 and 2017) and two second places (2014 and 2016).


August 28th, 2010: First participation of Team Sky in La Vuelta.   

September 11th, 2011: Chris Froome and Bradley Wiggins get a brilliant result for Team Sky finishing 1st and 2nd on the overall classification.  

September 9th, 2017: Froome wins La Vuelta after climbing the Angliru, flanked by Wout Poels and crossing the finish line just after Alberto Contador.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta