2019 Edition

Stages won 0
Overall ranking 10
Competitors in race 7
Sporting managers : PORTAL Nicolas / ZANDIO ECHAIDE Xabier http://www.teamineos.com


Team Ineo’s history is intricately woven with that of the Vuelta, a race where it has always had great line-ups, and has fought several seasons for a triumph in the general classification. Following its debut in 2010, as Team Sky, the British riders took their place among the protagonists in the Grand Tours with a previously unknown Chris Froome and his teammate, the Olympic and Track Cycling gold medallist, Bradley Wiggins. Both made it 1 and 2 on the final podium of that edition. In fact, La Vuelta 11 is the first Grand Tour that adorns the tally of the Kenyan-born British rider.

At that moment, a special relationship began between the Vuelta and Froome, a rider that has confessed on several occasions to having a particular preference for this race. The winner of the 2013, 2015, 2016 and 2017 Tour de France was once again on the podium of the Spanish Tour in 2014 and 2016. In 2015, however, he was forced to abandon the race following a serious ankle injury. In 2017, he won again La Roja, maintaining the lead from the 3rd stage right until the final stage. Froome thus obtained a historic double win, winning both the Tour and La Vuelta for the first time since the latter went on to be held after the Grande Boucle. In 2018, the team confirmed its domination in three-week races winning the Giro with Chris Froome and the Tour with Geraint Thomas. Although they were not able to repeat this success in La Vuelta 18, Michal Kwiatkowski was the big trump card of Dave Brailsford’s team. The Polish rider wore La Roja for three stages. Following the team’s name change to Ineos, the squad is still a big favourite in three-week races. In the Tour de France 2019, victory went to the young Columbian Egan Bernal, who won the seventh French Tour for the team in the past eight years.

  • Final victories2
  • Stages victories9
  • Red jerseys29
  • Other races Won3

Overall victories: 2

2011: Chris Froome

2017: Chris Froome


Stage victories: 9

2011: Chris Sutton, in Playas Orihuela.

2011: Chris Froome, in Peña Cabarga

2013: Vasil Kiryienka, in Peña Cabarga.

2015: Nicholas Roche, in Riaza.

2016: Team Sky (T.T.T.).

2016: Chris Froome, in Peña Cabarga.

2016: Chris Froome, in Calp.

2017: Chris Froome, en Cumbre del Sol y Logroño.


Leader jerseys: 29

2011: Chris Froome, 1 day.

2011: Wiggins Bradley, 4 days.

2016: Peter Kennaugh, 1 day.

2016: Michal Kwiatkowski, 1 day.

2017: Chris Froome, 19 days.

2018: Michal Kwiatkowski, 3 days.


Victories in secondary classifications: 3

2014: Chris Froome (most aggressive rider).

2017: Chris Froome (White and Green jersey)


4 : Chris Froome’s La Vuelta podiums, with two victories in the general classification (2011 and 2017) and two second places (2014 and 2016).


August 28th, 2010: First participation of Team Sky in La Vuelta.

September 11th, 2011: Chris Froome and Bradley Wiggins get a brilliant result for Team Sky finishing 2nd and 3rd on the overall classification.

September 9th, 2017: Froome wins La Vuelta after climbing the Angliru, flanked by Wout Poels and crossing the finish line just after Alberto Contador.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta