2020 Edition

Stages won 0
General Ranking 9
Competitors in race 6
Sporting managers : RIBBERS Arjan / REEF Marc


Created in 2005 under the moniker Shimano-Memory Corp and a result of the merger between the Dutch team Bankgiroloterij and Japan’s Shimano, the team progressed with the return to the pack of tool manufacturer Skil. However, in 2012, the team took on a bigger dimension with the support of oil prospection firm Argos North Sea Group and became the flag-bearer for the world’s biggest bicycle manufacturer in the world: the Taiwanese giant Giant. In 2016, the team moved its registration to Germany and is now sponsored by the Sunweb brand, a specialist in holidays in the sun.
Since its debut in 2011, the squad has rarely failed in its persecution of stage victories. Marcel Kittel had the honor of inaugurating the winning streak in Talavera de la Reina, although it would be his countryman, John Degenkolb, who would be the great victor of this race in 2012, taking home no less than five wins. The Gera sprinter would return two seasons later to emerge victorious from four volatas. Madrid in 2015 would bring his total to ten victories. Following a four-year drought, Nikias Arndt lifted the team’ spirits in 2019. The German rouleur obtained a stage win in Igualada with a reduced sprint to the finish-line due to the rain, beating the young Alex Aranburu in the arrival.
In 2020, the Sunweb Team has been one of the peloton’s greatest motivators. The German riders attacked using all types of strategies in the latest Tour de France, obtaining three stage victories and earning the affections of a fan base that fell in love with its aggressive style.

  • Final victory0
  • Stages victories16
  • Red jerseys6
  • Other race Won1

Overall victories: 0  

Stage victories: 16

  • 2011: Marcel Kittel, in Talavera de la Reina.
  • 2012: John Degenkolb, Viana, Logroño, Alcañiz. Motorland Aragón, Sanxenxo and Madrid.
  • 2013: Warren Barguil, in Castelldefels and Sallent de Gállego.
  • 2014: John Degenkolb (Córdoba, Ronda, Logroño and La Coruña)
  • 2015: Tom Dumoulin, at El Poble Nou de Benitatxell, and Burgos; John Degenkolb, in Madrid.
  • 2019: Nikias Arndt in Igualada.  

Leader jersey: 6 days

  • 2015: Tom Dumoulin, 6 days.

Victories in secondary classifications: 1

  • 2015: Tom Dumoulin (most aggressive rider)

5: sprint victories in a same edition (2012 - John Degenkolb).


August 20th, 2011: First participation in La Vuelta for the team under the name of Skil-Shimano.

September 9th, 2013: Warren Barguil reveals in La Vuelta with two stage victories in his first year as a professional.

September 12th, 2015: Astana, with his leader Fabio Aru leading the way, attacked red jersey’s Tom Dumoulin in stage 20. The Dutch was forced out of the podium after a dramatic stage.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta