2019 Edition

Stages won 0
Overall ranking 8
Competitors in race 7
Sporting managers : VERBRUGGHE Rik / MIHOLJEVIC Vladimir http://teambahrainmerida.com


Bahrain-Mérida faces its second season in the cycling frontline, after an interesting debut in 2017. Much like Astana has been doing over the past decade, the team represents an oil-rich country looking for a place on the global sport scene, under the initiative of Sheikh Nasser bin Hamad Al Khalifa. The 30-year-old occasional triathlete is the son of the king of Bahrain, the president of the national Olympic Committee, the commander of the Royal Guard and, now, the owner of a cycling team backed by a consortium of Bahraini companies in a partnership with Taiwanese bicycle maker Merida.

The fleet is led by the charismatic Vincenzo Nibali, who made it onto the podium of the Giro and La Vuelta in 2017, with stage victories in both grand tours. In 2018, the ‘shark’ of Mesina also added a victory in the Milan-San Remo race to his already impressive track record and in 2019, yet another podium in the Giro. Besides lo Squalo, the Bahraini team’s victories have also come through Dylan Teuns, with a stage victory in the recent Tour de France, and through the young Mark Padun in the Adriatica Ionica Race. In this Vuelta, the team presents several stage hunters and a Domenico Pozzovivo who will fight to obtain a good position in the general classification following a very respectable outcome in the last Giro d’Italia.

  • Final victory0
  • Stages victory1
  • Red jersey0
  • Other race Won0

Overall victory : 0


Stage victories : 1 

2017 : Vincenzo Nibali, in Andorra La Vella.


Leader jersey : 0


Victories in secondary classifications : 0 


: number of times that Vincenzo Nibali has participated in La Vuelta with three podiums (2010, 2013 and 2017) and one overall victory in 2010.



March 6th, 2017 : Sonny Colbrelli gets the first World Tour victory for Bahrain-Merida’s team in Amilly (second stage of Paris-Nice 2017).

March 17th, 2018 : Vincenzo Nibali wins Milan-San Remo, the first race for the team, after a long breakaway. 

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta