2021 Edition

Stages won 0
General Ranking 19
Competitors in race 5
Sporting managers : SANS VEGA Alex / VIERHOUTEN Aart


The South African team prepares for its 8th consecutive participation in La Vuelta, following its 2014 debut, when it was still a Professional-Continental team. This year, the team will once again collaborate with an old sponsor and will participate in the race under the name of Team Qhubeka NextHash, now sponsored by NTT Pro Cycling, Dimension Data and MTN-Qhubeka.

The 2015 Vuelta would bring out the qualities of several riders from a team created to promote the values of the African continent among young people. The great success for the then MTN-Qhubeka would come at the hands of transalpine Kristian Sbaragli, sprint winner of the stage that ended at Castellón de la Plana; the second in a Grand Tour for the project after the one obtained by Stephen Cummings in the 2015 Tour de France. However, the leap for the African team occurred at the hands of Ben King, who won at two of the toughest peaks in La Vuelta 18: Alfacar. La Alfaguara and La Covatilla.

  • Final victory0
  • Stages victories3
  • Red jersey0
  • Other race Won1

Overall victories: 0

Stage victories: 3
2015: Kristian Sbaragli, in Castellón de la Plana.
2018: Ben King (Alfacar. Sierra de la Alfaguara and La Covatilla).

Leader jersey: 0

Victories in secondary classifications: 1
2016: Omar Fraile (polka dot jersey).

22: The total combined uphill kilometres of Alfacar and La Covatilla, the two finales won by Ben King in La Vuelta 18.


  • August 23rd, 2014: First African team to participate in La Vuelta under MTN-Qhubeka sponsoring.
  • September 2nd 2018: Ben King obtains his second stage victory in La Covatilla during La Vuelta 18, the South-African team’s third ever stage victory in the Spanish tour.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta