Carapaz flies, Roglic shakes Evenepoel

September 3 rd 2022 - 17:45

The iconic slopes of Sierra de La Pandera led to a brutal showdown that saw Richard Carapaz (Ineos Grenadiers) take off to another stage win, two days after he tamed Peñas Blancas, while Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) successfully attacked Remco Evenepoel (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl). The Ecuadorian climber was the only rider from the breakaway who managed to stay ahead of Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana-Qazaqstan), 2nd of the stage, and Roglic, who came 3rd and opened a gap of 48’’ to Evenepoel on the line. That’s the exact same difference as what the Belgian youngster gained in the ITT. Evenepoel retains La Roja with a gap of 1’49’’ to Roglic and 2’43’’ to Enric Mas (Movistar), on the eve of another big mountain stage in Andalusia.

La Vuelta 22 takes on two big mountain stages in a row in Andalusia voer the week-end. Saturday’s summit finish is set on the iconic climb of Sierra de la Pandera, where Alejandro Valverde won in 2003! The 146 finishers from stage 13 are back in action at the start from Montoro.

An impressive 10-man break after a brutal battle

Many of them are interested in the breakaway. Vincenzo Nibali (Astana Qazaqstan) is the first rider on the move. His acceleration unleashes a flurry of attacks with the likes of Jay Vine (Alpecin-Deceuninck), Sergio Higuita (Bora-Hansgrohe) or Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal) trying to break away…

The right move eventually goes after almost 70km of battles at 50km/h. Alexey Lutsenko (Astana Qazaqstan) and Richard Carapaz (Ineos Grenadiers) open the first gap. Clément Champoussin (AG2R Citroën), Luis Leon Sanchez (Bahrain Victorious), Bruno Armirail (Groupama-FDJ), Filippo Conca (Lotto Soudal), Kenny Elissonde and Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo) quickly join them at the front. Raul Garcia Pierna (Kern Pharma) and Marco Brenner (Team DSM) also bridge the gap to make it a 10-man breakaway with 76km to go.

Early battles on the Puerto de Los Villares

Rémi Cavagna sets the pace for Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl to control the gap at around 4 minutes. Mads Pedersen is dropped from the breakaway as they face the final sequence up Puerto de Los Villares (10.4km at 5.5%) and Sierra de la Pandera (8.4km at 7.8%). The peloton trail by 3’30’’.

Alexey Lutsenko opens the battle inside the last 20km of the stage. Luis Leon Sanchez counter-attacks and goes solo over the top. Richard Carapaz joins him with 10km to go. Champoussin joins them with 7km to go while the peloton, now led by Jumbo-Visma, trail by 2’25’’.

Carapaz resists, Evenepoel struggles

Conca also bridges the gap with 5km to go. But the GC group only trail by 1’22’’ with Chris Harper (Jumbo-Visma) setting a strong pace. Primoz Roglic attacks 4km away from the summit while Carapaz goes solo at the front. Mas and Lopez also accelerate, Evenepoel struggles.

On the line, Carapaz maintains a gap of 8’’ to Lopez, who finishes 2nd on La Pandera behind an early attacker, like he did in 2017 (Rafal Majka won the stage). Roglic comes 3rd, with the Colombian climber, 48’’ ahead of Evenepoel.

Carapaz again!
Carapaz again! © SprintCyclingAgency©2022

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta