Host Cities

Fuenlabrada, in the Community of Madrid, was one of the cities that recorded the highest growth in Spain in the 1980s, expanding exponentially to become the region’s third largest city, building up around the sectors of services, leisure and sport. This is evidenced by the highly successful teams that have been formed there, such as Montakit Fuenlabrada in basketball, and famous sports personalities such as Fernando Torres, Roberto Dueñas and Dani Moreno.

Every year, Madrid honours La Vuelta’s overall winner. 2019 will mark the 50th anniversary of the race’s final stage in the capital. The list of winners that have wound their way through the city’s streets, with arms aloft as winner of this Spanish race, include such famous names as Gustaaf Deloor (the first, in 1935), Bernard Hinault, Lucho Herrera, Sean Kelly, Perico Delgado, Tony Rominger, Alberto Contador and Chris Froome, among others. Fifty Vuelta finishes and 75 stage finishes make the capital one of the race’s main landmarks.

Follow us

Get exclusive information about La Vuelta

Partners of La Vuelta

By browsing this site, you accept the use of Cookies in order to offer to you an advertising tailored to your interests, and to perform traffic statistics.

To find out more